Craft & Sew
Leave a Comment

DIY Pom Pom Beanie I Fall & Winter Beginner Sewing

DSCN1335

I had extra sweater fabric and love a good pom pom beanie. I actually wear beanies year round for bad hair days or because they are just cozy as can be and I love being warm.

This is the easiest DIY I have done this year hands down.

How I Rock it:

I wear this beanie with my matching poncho, other day outfits and sometimes with my PJ’s.

DSCN1308

Fold stretch sweater fabric double, make sure the crease of the fabric is on the left side.

DSCN1310

Next layer a loose beanie hat over the fabric and cut a perfect square. Next wrap the fabric around your head to make sure the opening will be snug.

DSCN1311

Cut 2-3 inch strips on the top of the square (this will become the pom pom) the smaller the strip the fluffier your pom pom will be.

DSCN1312

Next, flip the fabric inside out and hemn the right side from the bottom to the where the pom pom strips begin. You can also hemn the opening of the beanie.

DSCN1314

Next cut a thin strip of fabric 6-8 inches. Fold your hat accordion style 4x then use the thin strip to wrap around the pom pom of the beanie. Double knot the beanie to secure the pom pom. Now your Pom pom beanie is complete!

DSCN1315

Stay warm my friends!

Watch the video for more details:

Leave a Reply

