Beauty
Leave a Comment

DIY Sugar Scrub Solid Cubes I Cold Processed Soap Method

DSCN1390

I LOVE making sugar scrub solids, they are tidy versus liquid sugar scrubs with the runny oil mixture that feels like a quick sand application while showering. Half the time the liquid sugar scrubs end up mainly on the shower floor. Fear not, I have figured out an effective way to make sugar scrub solids using all natural cold processed soap.

DSCN1364

Background Details:

The standard method is a 1,2,3 measurement (1 part oil, 2 parts grated soap, 3 parts granulated sugar). I found that my cubes were still rather loose and shabby when I used the standard measurement.

I altered my measurements to be .5, .5, 2, 3 (.5 liquid oil, .5 solid oil, 2 parts grated soap, 3 parts granulated sugar).

Liquid oil suggestions: Grape seed oil, olive oil, almond oil, apricot oil, avocado oil

Solid oil suggestions: Cocoa butter or Shea butter

DSCN1365

Directions: Melt your solid and liquid oils together, I used the double boiler method so as not to burn the oils. Shred a soap bar of your choice, I used natural soap that I sell at my “Zenshine” online store.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/ZenShine?section_id=14772777&ref=shopsection_leftnav_3

DSCN1366

Add the shredded soap and melt and mix with the oil over the double boiler until it breaks down.

DSCN1368

Pour the soap/ oil mixture over the sugar and blend. Once the mixture is consistent, insert scrub mixture into a mold or ice cube tray. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes.

DSCN1371

Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

DSCN1391 2

Watch the video for more info:

Leave a Reply

